My Dad can hear me better through my Phonak Marvel when features are off

I have the Phonak M70 hearing aids.

I’m also a self programmer.

Something I’ve noticed is when I activate NoiseBlock, SoundRelax and WindBlock, my Dad struggles to hear me when on the phone.

When I turn off all those features on the Phone Call program and call my Dad in the same situation (on a very noisy bus on the exact same road) he can hear me SO much better.

Just thought I’d post in case it helps anyone else. (Please note, that we have all different hearing loses etc and it may not work for you, but might be worth a try?)

12 Likes

@Zebras Thank you for the tip :upside_down_face:

1 Like

Yeah, I have noticed that aggressive use of those features tends to have negative effects for me as well. I think they are trying to block so much, nothing of value gets through. I always turn wind block completely off. Wind just isn’t an issue for me. Noise block can also block desirable sounds if used at a high level, and I haven’t seen sound relax do much of anything. I also turn whistle block down as low as I can get it and still not get feedback. That one really causes me a lot of problems if turned up too high.

1 Like

First, this may not work with everyone, as Zebra has been pointing out in the OP.

But this work for me. I have been trying DIY on my aids for 4-5 months and find that I turn the help to “low” as possible. I could hear something better.

However, you will find that some sounds will be louder than usual.

Some features will also accidentally interfere with speech because it thinks that “noise” should be reduced when I don’t want it to be reduced! So in theory, hearing aids special features and dynamic noise reduction can be interfering with speech that we need to hear.

In the end, our brain is the best “noise filter”. Not hearing aids.

Turn on more features and noise reduction if you can’t handle it. Do not turn it off completely though. Just as low as possible. Not off.