OSHA Approved Hearing Aids - Loud areas

I’ll place this question here because it looks like there is not a place for OSHA related question.

A little history about me and what’s going on: I wear right side hearing aid and cochlear implant on the left. I work in manufacturing and some places in the building are noisy and the other are not. I am working in my promoted department and it’s in a more noisy area compared to the other building. However, OSHA went ahead and started to enforce everyone to wear ear plugs/ear muffs in the said area. Since I can’t wear ear muff due to ear sensitivity and with that making too much feedback noise on the HA and muting out the cochlear implant, I was left out of my dept for 2 weeks until a solution came up and that was just wearing ear plugs and leave the cochlear implant on.

Even though I hate the silence and the increased difficulty of hearing things at work and my work performance had went down the slope and I’ve been on a roller coaster ever since, I’m trying to go around and ask this question:

What makes OSHA to recognize hearing aids as approved by OSHA? How can we do that?

I went to audiologists, since the other piece of missing info was that I needed to provide Noise Reduction Rating of at least 27% for both ears. However, OSHA never supplied any information of how to do that, including never supplied how to test for that in HA.

I’m sure there are other people out there like me that still want to work in manufacturing, some job provide great pay and such! I’ve already recommended noise reduction heat treated fabrication that wrap around the machine to reduce noise, but none of us really know how long that will take. Including I’m not in the full discussion to find out what is out there that can reduce the loud noises from the machine overall so the people don’t have to wear ear plugs and ear muffs so we all can rejoice!