VA hearing aid repair getting slow

I’m a Veteran and I’m on my second pair of VA aids.
I have Resounds One’s and gave them to the VA in March to be repaired. They were sent off for repairs and I got them back in two weeks in the mail. Then in May the left one just made a static noise and died.
May 16th I took them to the VA so be repaired again. I still don’t have them back and all they have told me is they will be mailed to me.
I told them if they were having having that much problem fixing them they need to give me new aids. They said I can’t get new ones until Dec. 2025. Our VA Audiology in Baton Rouge is slipping.

Any other Vets out there having problem with repairs or service at the VA?

Never heard of such a thing… Escalate to the audeo chief or talk with a patient advocate.

2 Likes

A while ago I was issued a pair of Oticon Intents (with the smart charger). I left my Opn 1 aids to be refurbished. The VA sent them off to Oticon for the service, and I received them about 2 weeks later. They were sent back from Oticon to the VA, which checked the programming, and then sent to me.

I am a veteran and been wearing aids from the VA for almost 20 years. To be honest in that time I have only had 3 sets of aids repaired and the turn around time has been less than 2 weeks each time. Over that time I have used a total of 4 clinics and 4 audiologist. Also for 14 of those years i have been wearing Oticon aids. The repairs have been mostly due to moisture due to living in a hot and humid environment. I haven’t had that issue since wearing rechargeable aids. My last repair was battery replacement due to end of warranty of the aids. Those aids are now my backup aids.

My VA aids were sent in for repair about three months ago it took about ten days Starkey did not repair them they replaced them including new custom moulds they were returned to the clinic where the settings were confirmed and returned to me.

1 Like