Phonak TV Connector help

I just got new hearing aids that have Bluetooth. I’m trying to connect the TV connector to my not so smart TV which is 8 years old. There is one optical connector that goes to the receiver. There are no other audio out jacks on the back of the TV. Also no headphone jack either. The receiver has no audio out jacks either, and the headphone jack on the front of the receiver is too big. Also if I get an adapter for that, won’t that turn off the speakers so no one else can view the tv too? I don’t know what to do next. Thanks in advance.

I think you’d need an optical splitter. Splitter would be plugged into TV. It would create two “outs,” one for your receiver, one for TV Connect. Here’s an example, although I have no experience with the device: https://www.amazon.com/ZEXMTE-Digital-Optical-Fiber-Splitter/dp/B07BKQVB8N/ref=asc_df_B07BKQVB8N/?tag=hyprod-20&linkCode=df0&hvadid=241973970700&hvpos=&hvnetw=g&hvrand=2353208626206713&hvpone=&hvptwo=&hvqmt=&hvdev=c&hvdvcmdl=&hvlocint=&hvlocphy=9031807&hvtargid=pla-448760787245&psc=1

1 Like

If your TV can output both video and audio via the HDMI-out jack (just unplug the present optical connection and see what happens) then you could use that HDMI connection to feed the receiver and allocate the spdif (optical digital) jack to feed your TV Connector. In that instance you would control speaker audio via the receiver remote and TV Connector volume via the hearing aids or the TV Connector controls. HDMI audio and spdif optical are typically both active. Otherwise, as you say, the headphone out jack mutes the receiver audio output to your speakers.

1 Like

Thank you for responding so quickly. I think the optical splitter is the way to go and it looks easy to hook up. You saved me. THANK YOU

If I could do this without messing everything up, I might tryi it until I get an optical splitter like recommended above. The splitter seems like the easy way to go. Thank you so much for replying so quickly.