Painful domes

Just got fitted with Phonak Audeo Paradise RICs. Audiologist gave me large closed domes. I have been wearing for four days now and every day my ears are in pain. It hurts to touch the inside of both ears and requires all night to them to calm down. That can’t be right! I have an appointment for Tuesday (4 days from now) to address. I am wondering what would be the type of dome I should try. Amazing how much that little soft rubber thing can irritate the inside of the ear. I think they only plug the ear canal, too big to go in.

I have brand new Pardise rechargeable hearing aids.
My audiologist gave me an assortment of domes. He didn’t take a wax impression and make custom domes for me. I have no experience with those for Phonaks.

He did give me an assortment of 4 different dome sizes. All were what I think are open domes except for the smallest. It had no perforations at all and only covered the end of the receiver? in the ear.
I am using the largest open dome he gave me now with perforations all around. They are very comfortable. The other ones he gave me to try were all smaller. I tried them all and have been using the largest ones for about a week now. I believe they are the ones he set up my hearing aids with almost 2 months ago.

When I was using my B70’s the previous audiologist put on power domes. I hope that’s the right name. They had no perforations, and had two seals. They were awful. They set the B70’s up with that. after 2 days I changed back to open domes after being told in no uncertain terms that I wasn’t able to hear my wife. I went back to the audiologist who never reprogrammed the hearing aids.

My story isn’t important here; however, I feel that there are many choices. However, I think the right one depends on the gain of your hearing aids, your hearing loss and whether you need help with feed back.