GN Resound Omnia Bluetooth issues

I know this has been discussed quite a bit recently, but a lot of it was buried in a Phonak v Resound thread and I’m not sure where else.

But @jim_lewis gets the prize for imparting lots of information, so I am tagging him here.

I have been using Resound Ones for a couple of years and once Apple had sorted out their initial release mess with iPhone 12 Pro firmware, it’s been pretty well perfect for me. I could leave my phone anywhere and pick it up later, with both the phone and the Smart 3D app connecting more or less instantly.

But I decided to try the Resound Omnias with my iPhone 12 Pro (which is on the latest firmware). All the issues that @jim_lewis describes in multiple posts over the last few weeks immediately visited themselves on me. Sometimes I can get things working again by restarting the Resound App, but this morning the only way was to restart the hearing aids. As Jim says, sometimes the app doesn’t think there is anything connected to the iPhone, even though the iPhone clearly is connected to the aids and sometimes both the phone and the app have totally lost contact with the aids.

If you keep your phone with you, near the Omnias then all remains connected. But what I don’t understand is that Resound knows how to do this stuff, as the Resound One demonstrates and the Omnia has been out for nearly a year now and its Bluetooth performance sucks! Come on Resound get your act together!

Anyway for the time being the Omnias are demoted to being my backup aids and I’m using the Ones again.

5 Likes