Bluetooth crackling - Phonak Marvel M90-13T

I have been using the Audeo Marvels for a few months now. The initial pair of hearing aids were sent back to Phonak after I noted that there was a crackling noise during bluetooth phone calls. On both sides of the call - crackling would only happen when either party spoke. Sometimes the crackling would be so loud, it would be impossible for either side to understand what was being said.

So I now have a “refurbished” pair of the same and unfortunately, the issue is still present. I have tried pairing with different phones (Android and IOS) and no luck.

There’s no crackling during streaming.

Any idea of what could be wrong?

No! Can’t help. But i do not think this is a common problem. Likely a problem with either the aids or your phones. Maybe your carrier. Maybe interference from something else.

For me, I had almost given up on phone call until I got the Marvels. Sound is perfect. There is a common problem with the microphone pickup. In noise or outside in wind others have a problem hearing you and I try to limit phone calls to inside and quiet. But “crackling” is new to me and I haven’t seen others here mention it.

1 Like

Thanks @Psych1

The crackling isn’t there without bluetooth though …

I also noted that whilst on bluetooth, the ambient noise at the other end was very much diminished, the sound was very much focussed on speech. When I switched off bluetooth, I could hear way more what was going on in the background and I was wondering if the crackling had anything to do with the “de-noising”.