Your thoughts on used hearing aids

As I mentioned in a previous thread, I’m looking to purchase a backup set of hearing aids. Yesterday I was searching in eBay and noticed many people selling used hearing aids. I currently have oticon more 1.

Has anyone had any experience in purchasing used hearing aids ?

Does anyone know where I could get a second set of more1 hearing aids at a discounted price ?

Does oticon still sell more 1? Would they be cheaper because they now have the oticon real?

Love to hear your thoughts and experiences.
I spoke to my audiologist and she said in her experience used hearing aids end up costing more than new ones.

1 Like

I am a self programmer and I have purchased several pairs of used hearing aids from facebook market place, here are some More 1’s

Between my hearing aids (Lumity L90), two Roger Ons, and various accessories (chargers, extra receivers, etc.), I’ve shelled out about $2500 for what would have cost more like $10,000 if I’d gone through a local audiologist rather than buying on ebay. However, it’s a crapshoot, and you may need to either have professional help or be pretty good at trouble-shooting yourself.

The aids were fine. They were sold as ‘barely used’ by an audiologist looking to offload them after a patient returned them post-trial. No drama there. I won them for a bit less than $2,000. I could have gotten the same thing for cheaper if I was willing to wait longer and look for listings posted by people who had no idea what they were selling (e.g. “hearing aids - power on, but can’t test” vs. “Phonak Audeo Lumity L90s - barely used, like new, guaranteed in working order”). I looked into ebay’s return policy before buying them, and if they hadn’t worked, I’d have had some protection and should have been able to return them for a refund.