Would love to hear comments on my selection process

I have been wearing Oticon model Hearing aids for around 12 years and as much as I try, cannot adapt to their philosophy of open hearing. So I am trying different aids with mixed results. I have ski slop hearing similar in both ears that drop about 20 db at 500 hz, 40 at 1K, 70 at 1.5, 80 at 3K, and 90 at 5K. Beside general good hearing aid response, my chief concern is hearing in noisy environments and decent call streaming quality. So far.

Oticon, excellent except I cannot adapt to their open environment strategy for speech in noise.

Starkey Genesis: You can see my other thread, but the pair that I trialed had issues in noisy environments. Low rumble sound. I tried them when they first came out and this might have been corrected. Their fidelity did not seem that great. Good streaming.

Widex Moment 440: Again good aids, but high frequency seems to be lacking. Not adjusted using REM

Resound Omnia; Seems to be the best and I will try the Nexia. I believe the Omnia and Nexia are very similar in their sound strategy. The bummer that I had with the Omnia is they stopped working in the middle of the trial and it left a bad taste. Streaming was very poor, but speech in noise good.

Any Thoughts? I would love to hear them, especially your thoughts on Resound.

Thanks

What about Signia? Did you try it?

First thought is that you should post your audiogram profile so everyone can see what kind of hearing loss you have. This is very relevant for any discussion to ensue.

2 Likes

I have not. I live in a smaller town with not the best selection. Also, very hard to find an aud. that use REM and has a selection. I will put them on my list
Thanks

1 Like

I will try to post my profile, thanks

1 Like

I tried Signia Pure charge & go 7 TIX (with telecoil because the battery is huge) with open domes then I asked my Audi that I wanna try with custom molds so I am waiting for them to arive.