Widex Moment Sheer 440 or Phonak Lumity 90

I have been wearing hearing aids for about 17 years. I am writing to request help in deciding which hearing aids I should purchase for my next pair. I am considering Widex Moment Sheer 440s or the Phonak Lumity 90s. I don’t see much discussion about Widex hearing aids on this site, so I hope someone will respond to this post.

My first hearing aids were made by Phonak, the next were Starkeys, and I tried Widex and Resound before settling on Oticons for the third pair. I was influenced to purchase Oticons by positive reviews on this forum, but the Oticons have never had good sound for me. Maybe the open sound is not a good fit for me, and/or the audiologist never adjusted them correctly. I met with her many times. I had a negative experience with Oticon as well. I had defective hearing aids that were sent back repeatedly with no resolution. My audiologist was not helpful. Finally, I wrote to the CEO and the customer service director at Oticon, and after some negative response got a new pair of hearing aids. There had been a known defect in my original HAs. (!) I am still wearing the second pair of Oticons, though there have been a few problems with them as well.

I decided to try a different audiologist to see if the Oticon OPNs could be adjusted to my needs, since they still have a few months on warranty. I found a wonderful audiologist who was professional, skilled and kind. I paid her for some services, and she gave me a lot of free time to try different hearing aids. The practice that employs her charges outrageous prices for hearing aids, so before using her time I made it clear that I would not be able to purchase from them. I tried Oticon Mores while my HAs were in the shop, then Phonak Lumity 90s, then Widex Moment 440s. I tried Resounds in the office and felt they were still too “hot,” which is what I found when I wore them for months before.