User Review of Whisper Hearing Aids

I have been wearing a pair of Whisper hearing aids for the past 5 weeks. I will use this space to describe my experience with them and will endeavor to be strictly descriptive of how I’ve experienced them. My point of comparison is a pair of Oticon Opn 1 hearing aids, which I’ve been wearing for the past 5+ years.

I’ll begin with the physical characteristics. The ear pieces themselves are significantly larger than traditional hearing aids in order to accommodate a large 675 battery, which is necessary to communicate with the other piece of equipment, the “brain”. There is no rocker switch on the ear pieces, and adjustments in volume or program changes can only be made from the brain. I have not have a problem with the size of the ear pieces or with the controls being located on a separate device providing remote control. Nor have I had a problem in carrying the brain in my pocket. It is 3.5” x 2.5” x 0.6”. It takes 5 hours to recharge and a charge lasts for about 16 hours. The ear piece is powered by replaceable batteries which last about 3 days in my experience. The ear pieces work effectively even if the brain is not present. I met another Whisper who said that he doesn’t bring the brain with him during the day, finding that he doesn’t need it. The company says that it’s benefit is maximized in the most complex (noisy) listening environments. The hearing aids stream phone calls from my cell phone via bluetooth although there seems to be a little bit of delay. There are 5 custom programs available: music, quiet, noise, outdoors, and TV. I have changed wax guards twice in 5 weeks. The Whisper hearing aids are locked. More about the Whisper equipment can be found at https://www.whisper.ai