To use a dryer or not

I am new to hearing aids
How do I know if I should invest in an electronic hearing aid dryer?
If yes what brand without breaking the bank?
I am wearing a Starkey Muse i2400 RIC with earmold

I have a Perfect Dry Lux that I got at Costco for $40. It goes for $60 - 65 elsewhere. I spend a lot of time outdoors very active and at the gym sweating profusely, and think it is well worth the cost.

1 Like

I’ve used a Dry & Store for the last 17 years. Well worth the money.

1 Like

I also have the Perfect Dry Lux. It came with the used HA’s, that I bought. My mother had bought the same dryer for 80€.
I use it sometimes, when I remember. It could be useful to prolong the life of your HA’s if you sweat a lot…I wouldn’t buy a new one for that price. Since a lot of people buy and forget about them, I would suggest looking for a used product.

Yes I got mine off eBay.

1 Like

@Zebras You’re fast! I wasn’t even done correcting my spellcheck. :wink:

1 Like

The relative humidity in my house here in FL is a constant 48-49%, sometimes lower on those few days in the winter when FL natives fire up the furnace. My audiologist and I discussed a dryer and we agree that I don’t need one.

My point is that you don’t need a dryer just because you wear hearing aids. Take note of your environment and the amount of moisture your inner ears produce.

2 Likes

Bought a used Dry & Store Professional about 10 years ago. The biggest reason at the time was the constant itch in my ears. The UV light sanitation and then the low heat with desiccant to dry has pretty much eliminated the itch problem in my ears. I believe it is just good maintenance for the aids too.

What is the Dry&Store

Thanks for your reply I live in South Central Pennsylvania I sweat like crazy we live in a walk out basement that stays on the cool and damp side.