Sound Issue with Oticon Real 1

My Enzo Resounds are at the end of their useful life and I am trialing both the Oticon Real 1 and Phonak Lumity L90.

I should mention at the outset I’ve very little high frequency useable hearing. As a result, my HCP of many years and I have attempted to maximize useability of existing hearing (albeit within its narrow frequency range) as opposed to using super power HAs. The results have been more than satisfactory from my perspective (I’ve held customer-facing technical positions, speak foreign languages, etc) so that’s why we’re looking at the L90 and Real 1, which both cover my useable hearing range.

I’ve been wearing the Real 1s for 4 days now and have the following problem. Certain sounds such as a faucet running water and a running microwave kick off a feedback-like “tinkling” in my ears. I also hear this tinkling when I’m driving and by tapping a fork against a porcelain mug. While I’m no frequency expert, based on the above, both mid and high frequency sounds seem capable of setting off the tinkling sound.

Turning down the aids helps get rid of the tinkling but at the expense of needed volume. This sound is NOT true feedback (escaping sound being re-captured by the microphone) as my wife tells me she hears no feedback (a sound she knows all too well) when I turn on the faucet or microwave and she listens very closely.

I am the first client my HCP has fit with Real 1s. I’m currently using the 85db RICs which cover my loss on the REM, although I can certainly go up to the next level 105 RICs. I am seeing my HCP on Wednesday to adjust the HAs. Does anyone have any advice on adjustments that might make sense fo the Real 1s? I use custom-fit, full ear molds which haven’t had any issue with my Enzos or trial L90s. I completely trust my HCP but do like to factor in the formidable wisdom of this crowd :slight_smile: