Prednisone works for severe hearing loss!

I’ve been on prednisone for a short while for the terrible hearing loss that handicapped me. I’ve noticed when I decrease the dose my ears begin to feel congested and I lose even more hearing. What is that symptom mean? I’ve also noticed that when I take the prednisone I feel ear pain and tinnitus like it is working

I think a month on prednisone could save my hearing. I take NAC, glutathione vit ACE, ubiquinol ginko also.

I’m not a doctor, but cortisteroid reduces inflammation and swelling. So, reducing the dose probably reduces the drug’s ability to reduce congestion. Unfortunately, Prednisone is not a drug you can safely take for lomg periods of time. Sounds like time to have a good talk with an ENT.

I definitely have ear popping, ear canal pain and tinnitus. I’m just afraid I started the prednisone too late and now my hearing cells have just died. I think 80mg is a better dose. I can’t get any info from my ENTs, I take it the tympanic injections are dangerous and can lead to permanent deafness and balance loss??

Increased pain, as you reduce the prednisone dosage, is a symptom that you need to report to your ENT. The increase in pain is most likely indicating that the underlying inflammation is still there. Mike and I are not Doctors, so please contact your ENT.

If your ENT is not answering your questions you either need to ask more pointed questions or shop for a new ENT. A lot of Drs. are super intelligent but are not good communicators. Educate yourself by reading whatever you can find on the Internet. Make a list of questions and go back to your ENT. Some Drs. when hit with a bunch of questions will take the time to better explain your condition and their diagnosis. Others will get defensive and suggest that if you don’t trust their judgement maybe you need to find a new Dr. Either way you will come out ahead. Good luck.