Please help select a model for a first-time user with sensorineural hearing loss and tinnitus

I am a retired soldier in India, 48 years old, suffering from hearing loss, and in need of a hearing aid. I would appreciate your help in deciding which one I should choose. My audiologist suggested that I use either the Phonak Lumity L30-R or the BTE Lumity. Can someone please provide assistance? I am a first-time user.
Type of loss : sensorineural

Thank you in advance!

3 Likes

Hello Ram, welcome to the forum :slight_smile: I am not seeing any Audiogram in your images, well not one, that I am familiar with… A pure tone Audiogram, would be most helpful, like mines below, mines is severe/profound, it gives us mere mortals a better picture of your type of loss… Good luck in your endeavors for better hearing, cheers Kev

4 Likes

Thank you for your reply. I have uploaded the audiogram. Please suggest which model suits me and what things I need to check. Does the number of channels matter, and should I look for a directional change feature?

1 Like

I would go with the Naida Lumity UP hearing aids with that hearing loss.

The Naida is also easier to maintain rather then the Audeo.

4 Likes

Hi, I’m currently using a pair of Phonak Audeo Lumity L30R’s. I’ve been using them for almost 8 months now. They were recommended by my audiologist. But my loss is mild to moderate, whereas your’s appears to be more severe. So my guess would be to go with the BTE model, as suggested by @Zebras. However, I’m new to this too, and far from an expert. So I hope one of the audiologists (or other experienced members) of the forum will provide a reply soon.
(The Lumity L30R’s are rechargeable hearing aids, whereas the BTE model (Naida UP) uses disposable batteries.)

3 Likes