Please clarify: Bluetooth versus(?) MFi

I’ve been wearing Phonak Audéo V90 for three years. I have some unhappiness with my hearing, which may or may not be improvable with a different aid. (My impression is that the technology hasn’t changed much since 2015.) However, regardless, I would very much like direct-to-HA from my iPhone 6s and from my entertainment system receiver (audio component). So my intention is to try out a new pair on the basis that if I don’t think they’re worth the $ to upgrade, I won’t have to – e.g., via Hearing Revolution.

I’m unclear about what Apple MFi is with respect to Bluetooth. Do I need MFi-compatible HAs or merely Bluetooth-compatible? For example, would both Signia Pure 312 7Nx (MFi) and Phonak Audéo B-Direct (Bluetooth) both work with the iPhone? Any operational differences? Any reason my Sony audio component (Bluetooth 4.1) wouldn’t work with either of them?

1 Like

MFI HA’s will work with iphone.
Bluetooth (4.2) will work in mono from any bluetooth-capable phone to the B-Direct.
You would need an intermediate device that can speak to the aids to send other audio in either case.

The hearing aids use a proprietary process to stream from an iPhone. Regular Bluetooth transmitters will not stream directly to the hearing aids. However, every manufacturer has their own Bluetooth device to allow connection from cell phones and Bluetooth transmitters.

For example, I have a Costco Kirkland Signature 8.0 hearing aids (you will see it referred to here as KS8) and I have the small Bluetooth device for my hearing aids, which I wear on a lanyard, under my shirt
You can also clip it to clothing.

Besides my cell phone, I have my office phone, laptops, tablets, and generic Bluetooth transmitters connected to my hearing aids. I want everything going through my hearing aids, and this is the way, with the Bluetooth device for my hearing aids.