Phonak Virto Marvel occlusion effect

Greetings,

I’ve been wearing RITE HAs for seven years. I’m due for new HAs and thought the new Phonak Virto Marvel 312 half shell looked interesting. Partly this is because I’m tired of knocking my HAs off when removing my mask and because I think the Virto Black looks cool.

The thing is, I’ve never worn ITE HAs before and I’m concerned about the occlusion effect. My low frequency hearing is near normal and I have moderate-severe high frequency loss. Is there anyone who has a similar type of loss and has tried ITEs?

2 Likes

Hi traildog. I’m just trialing the Virto M titanium. First I also wanted to try the Virto black HA, but my audi ordered the titanium, so I decided I give it a try. Before I had the Audeo M. My hearing loss should be closed to yours (you could actually post your audiogram). From my experience I can told you that you will experience a more severe occlusion-effect with a CIC. I have by both HA the same vent and I thought it will be the same. But it’s not, I still find the occlusion by virto to be more present. It’s a little bit bothering to hear every tinny sound (chewing, speaking, moving your head, walking etc.). I activated the occlusion compensation, I’ll give it a try. If one can used to this occlusion effect, I don’t know. Here should the more experienced users deliver a more accurate answer.

1 Like

I have almost always worn ITE aids and I love them. If the vents are correct you will not have any issues with the sound of your own voice and the sound of eating

4 Likes

What do you mean if the vents are correct?

The vents should be chosen for your hearing loss by the fitting software. If the vents are to large you will have too much feedback, if the vents are too small then you will feel stopped up and hear your own voice too loud, and your movement of your jaw.

Thanks. Guess I’ll just have to wait until they come in to see. BTW, I grew up in Hot Springs :smiley:

1 Like