Phonak Titanium Slim Tip Fitting issue

Hi all,

I have a question and hoping someone can help me understand or provide some additional context. Long story to get there but wanted to provide full context.

I’m a veteran with high frequency, asymmetrical hearing loss, tinnitus, auditory processing disorder and vestibular issues due to jet noise and JP8 exposure during my service. I was recently fitted with Phonak Active Vent receivers (paired to Lumity L90) by my own request so that I could better hear phone calls and streaming as open domes leaked too much sound and make certain calls or streaming activity nearly useless. I’ve been in them a few weeks now and REALLY like them.

I’ve been working with my audiologist (VA which they really have been awesome) to tweak some settings. I started to look into DIY because I wanted to lower the turnaround time in the whole process for some of the programming changes (making an appointment, having a setting changed slightly and then evaluating) and just do some of the very minor stuff myself. In the quest for learing I keep finding mention in Phonak’s literature that the universal slim tips are for temporary use while the titanium slim tips are manufactured for the patient.

In my fitting for the Activevents, earmolds were taken. My audiologist called me about 2 weeks later to explain that “your ear canals are too narrow and curved for the titanium slim tips”. I was provided the AV D-R/L universal slim tips (with an extra supply) which fit my ears (they take a little “going around the bend” to seat them but after that they feel great and seal up nicely).

I am perfectly happy with the fit and comfort but wondering if this is something that phonak intended or not given the notes in their literature. Should I even be concerned about this? Does it sound right that my ear canals cannot accommodate the titanium slim tip but can accommodate the universal slim tip?

Thank you in advance for any guidance.

3 Likes