Phonak Lumity 90 vs ReSound Nexia 9 vs Oticon Intent 1 - why I chose Oticon

I’ve been wearing hearing aids for about 15 years and most recently have been using ReSound Linx 3Ds. These needed replacing and I searched long and hard to find a decent audiologist. Fortunately I found one who was prepared to let me trial the latest Phonak, ReSound and Oticon aids. All the aids I trialled were rechargeable models.

I trialled each of the aids for about 7 to 10 days, with the Oticons I kept them longer and we did have a second session during which we tweaked the MyMusic program because I was really unhappy with this after the initial fitting.

I am a retired 66 year old male so don’t have to attend conferences or have needs around hearing in complex situations for work. My speech recognition needs aren’t that complex However, I write and compose music at home, so the music reproduction capability of the HAs is very important to me (so that weighed heavily in my consideration).

Phonak Lumity 90 - very comfortable to wear, and the BT classic capability was an improvement over my Linx 3Ds. However, I felt they were not an improvement in speech recognition, sound in noise or music over my current ReSound Linx 3Ds. Also, the battery life was a bit suspect - I got a low battery warning on one day of fairly normal use. I ruled these out straightaway.

Oticon Intent 1 - I trialled these next. They were slightly uncomfortable at first (mainly the power dome in one ear) but I got used to them. General speech recognition and speech in noise were noticeably better for me compared to both the 3ds and the Lumitys. Battery life was excellent, no low battery warnings (despite wearing the aids for 19 hours one day). However, the MyMusic program was initially awful IMO, a big negative based on my requirements. So I kept these aids while I trialled the Nexias, and the audi tweaked the music program so it was much improved for me.