Phonak L90 sometimes red LED after charging - what does that mean?

The L90s are still new to me, as of today, I’ve had them a week.

I charge my L90s overnight. In the morning when the aids are in the charger, sometimes the LEDs are green, sometimes red, and sometimes one of each.

Looking on the app on my phone after I put them on, they are both charged 100%. So I just wonder what the red lights mean.

I couldn’t find the answer in the manual that came with the book.

Thanks

1 Like

From what I’ve read, L90’s are similar to Costco KS10’s, which I’ve been using for ~2 1/2 years. I recently had some charging issues that may have been fixed by a firmware update at my local Costco. You can read about it at Costco apparently fixed my KS10 charge problem

Other recommendations: Push the aids in the charger sockets firmly so they make good contact and occasionally rub the contacts on the aids against some rough cloth, like jeans (but not too often or you might wear out the contacts).

Also, to make your batteries last longer, don’t leave them charging all night. Either (1) partially charge in the evening so it takes just a bit in the morning (which is what I’ve been doing lately) and then (2) turn them off, unplug charger & put aids into unpowered charger till morning. Otherwise, do #2 and then connect charger to a timer so the aids are ready when you need them.

2 Likes

If you use a timer, don’t set the timer so it turns the power off while the aids are charging. That can leave the aids on and discharging.

I have set the timer so the charging starts at 4 AM. I turn the aids off and put them in the charger when I go to bed. They’re ready to go when I get up.

2 Likes

Red means you didn’t insert the hearing aid into the charger all the way and it didn’t charge properly. Make sure the wires are not crossing each other in the charger well or one of the hearing aids might not be all the way into the charger.

Jordan

4 Likes