Oticon Vigo Pro Connects w/ RITE Review

Ok, so I picked up my new Oticons 4 days ago and thought I would share my experiences thus far.

BACKGROUND: I have been wearing HA’s for about 25 years now. My last 2 aids were Siemens LS’ (ITC), each lasting about 8 years. I previously only wore 1 aid in my right ear. So this is my first time with an aid in my left ear.

PROS:
-I can actually hear!!!
-Directional hearing is awesome, never knew what it was like to actually know where sound was coming from. Still a learning curve here though.
-The telecoil works really well with my Spyder II cellphone.
-Went from volume setting on tv at 35-40 on average to 20ish during shows and typically turning it down to 15 at commercials.
-Wind noise seems to be reduced compared to old aids, however I haven’t been ice fishing yet so that will really give me a good compairison.
-Feedback seems to be minimal when wearing a hat or close proximity to something.
-RITE setup gives the smaller tube diamtere and most people don’t even know i have them in.

CONS:
-Things like garage doors, crinkling of paper, mouse/keyboard clicks, roller chairs across a hard textured floor, etc are very loud, boarderline painful. Not sure what needs adjustment without affecting other sounds.
-Does not seem to work well with my multi-line Avaya office phone. I did find a single line Avaya phone of a different model and it seems to work better in the telecoil mode.
-Seems like my voice is very loud and echo-y like I am in a tube or something. NOt sure if it’s the aid setting or the fact that both ears are plugged with the RITE feature.
-Bulky compared to a ITC which takes ALOT of getting used to.
-Haven’t figured out how to use the phone without going into the telecoil mode.
-Wish i had the hardware/software readily available at home to finetune the HA’s.

I am waiting for all the connect-line items to come in this week. I am getting the landline for at work and the tv unit for at home and for my cell.