Newbie here: [Cookie Bite] got any hearing aid recommendations?

Hi,

I’m 26, recently confirmed I’m HOH (I think I have something of a cookiebite profile?).

I’m demoing my first pair of hearing aids (Signia Styletto X) and I’m not really enjoying them. Clapping almost has a “hiss” at the tail end, things like paper crinkling and keyboards sound WAY too loud (like louder than I would expect even taking my hearing loss into account). Playing guitar sounds downright awful, almost nasally.

I figured I would have to adjust to the sounds, but fit has been an issue too. I can’t seems to get the tips comfortable in my ears, especially my left one, which is a bit narrower. What are my options here with respect to tips?

What are some things I might mention to my audiologist when I go in for adjustments? I’m not sure how to talk about what I’m experiencing with him, and how to choose the best hearing aid + prescription for me.

I suggest that you try the Search function in the banner. You’ll be able to choose from literally dozens of great discussions about just what you’re enquiring about.

Welcome to the Forum.

2 Likes

Welcome to the forum.

26, first pair of aids. Looking at your audiogram and this being your first pair of aids is something. I can only guess you have been struggling for a while. Yes to cookie bite. We have a number of members with a cookie bite loss. It’s one of the more difficult losses to fit. Finding a fitter with cookie bite experience would be very helpful.

Since this is your first pair of aids with that hearing loss, it will be a learning curve for you to adjust to hearing aids. Be prepared for kitchen and bathroom sounds to be loud among other things.

Adding “cookie bite” to your thread heading would bring in better help.
Good luck.

4 Likes

Hi, thanks for your response & the tip on the heading! Nice to meet you.