new here, how do this work?

Hey everyone. im sander and im new in this world. im 15 yo and i have had hearing aids for my hole life. for fun i searched up all hearing aid bc i was bored and found out there was a hole community. never would have thought that. i have about 50 decibels loss in both ears. i have the SKY M50-SP, they are nice. its the first time having bluetooth and its realy nice. i got a few questions

1. what do all the terms mean?
  2. is phonak a good company?
  3. is there anything i need to know?

Thanks everyone!

9 Likes

Make a list of terms that you don’t understand. One term you see a lot is HCP, hearing care professional.

Yes Phonak is a good company. A lot of folks like them because they use Bluetooth classic for hands off use of their phones.

If you are interested in hearing aids and general audiology, sign up for free course work at audiologyonline. You only need to pay if you want continuing education credits.

Otherwise understand that there is no best hearing aid for everyone, and the person adjusting the hearing aid is probably more important than the brand of hearing aid.

Keep reading and let us know what you think as a young person, as most of us are in the other end of our lifespan.

11 Likes

Regarding #3. Is there anything you need to know? It’s largely up to you. One can make good use of hearing aids by working with your audiologist and giving them very little thought or one can become a hearing aid geek like many of us and learn everything you can. Who knows, maybe even become an audiologist. Or one can choose anywhere in between. Lots of different ways to successfully use hearing aids. Welcome to the forum.

2 Likes

Sander1
I am a mother so I must advise you that:
hole = an opening in he ground
whole = entire, which you should be using

Sincerely yours

10 Likes

thanks, seems like a fun community. even tho most people are older here XD

5 Likes