My Rexton BiCore experience

My Rexton BiCore C R-Li hearing aids came in this past Sunday, and I wanted to wear them a few days before giving my initial thoughts. I trialed all 3 pairs around Costo (also Jabra & Philips) before deciding on Rexton. Sound-wise, Jabra and Rexton seemed very similar to me, but I went with Rexton for two reasons: 30+ hour battery life and the directional microphone feature on the app.

I need to preface all this by saying that I’ve been wearing a single Phonak Lyric in my left ear for 8+ years. (It wasn’t appropriate for my right ear, as it is worse) I know that Lyric isn’t very popular here, but it suited me perfectly well for a long time. It obviously wasn’t meeting all my hearing needs, but it was way better than nothing. And it was incredible in the sense that it was “set and forget” and low-maintenance for my active lifestyle. It was invisible, I didn’t have to take it out to shower or sleep, I never had to worry about feedback issues, I could talk on the phone and wear earbuds, and never have to worry about losing it or sweating during a workout, etc. Basically, I never even had to think about it.

So, I knew I was going to be a touch crowd for the switch to RICs. I’m only making the switch because my speech comprehension was never going to be maximized with the Lyric, which are analog.

And so far, as expected, I’m not the least bit impressed with Rexton. (not sure whether to laugh or cry!)

1. They make my ears ache and are so itchy. I can only wear them a few hours a time before I want to rip them out.

2. They are much higher-maintenance. I have to take them out for showers and bed, and clean them every morning. I have to worry about water and sweat, and be careful when brushing my hair or being active that I don’t lose one. Not to mention setting one down, and my cat making off with his new toy!!