My hearing is worse after getting hearing aids

Had hearing loss for many years and was motivated to get aids recently . I bought a pair of MD Neo xs in the canal type. Price was right and they are comfortable. But, without then in, all sounds are muffled. I am worried I will never get my hearing back to what was normal to me before the purchase. With out them in, I can not hear nearly as well as before. I have been wearing the MDs 8-12 hours daily for 3 weeks. At the two week mark I noticed a drastic decline in my hearing in my good ear. I have has 75 % loss in the bad ear for over 20 years .

1 Like

I have been wearing aids for 20 years. It is normal to feel like aids cause your hearing to be worse when you are not wearing the aids. It is because you are getting use to sound with the aids. And it does seem like the aids make your hearing worse.

14 Likes

You could prove it by asking your AuD for booth test to compare after using HAs for a while. However, it is likely just as cvkemp said - you didn’t realize how poorly you heard without them because you had nothing to compare it to. If they help, wear them all day - put them in when you wake and remove when you sleep! Good Luck

10 Likes

Before getting the MD hearing aids i could hear my hardwood floor creaking when I walked on it. I could hear a golf ball land within 50 feet on me. I could hear many things I can not hear now. My brain possibly caused this adjustment in my hearing. I think I will return these aids before my 45 day trial ends. If my prior hearing returns I will be happy and can live with it. I only got the aids to help understand conversation in noisy environments. If my hearing does not return I will spend the necessary dollars to get a good fitting and quality set of aids.

1 Like