My hearing aids journey ended with an eBay I want to tell you about!

I’m new to HAs. Some of you have followed my progress and know that I ended up with the Oticon More 1s. BUT there is a relatively new twist that I want to share and I believe it’s important. At least it was to me. Here’s the journey and the twist.

1. I tried the Eargo 6s. They were good but I returned them because of the feedback sound and the itchy feeling I had while they were in my ears. I also had to constantly put them back in because they would wind their way out of my canals. Additionally, sometimes I was unable to find the plastic string and I thought I lost them in my ears. One time my wife had to fish one out. Not pretty. Back they went.

2. I had a bad experience with an audi who used to post on this site. I got the person as a referral from @DrCliffAuD’s site. The person gave me a story why I didn’t need REM. Well, that’s why I went to him, so I bailed, but not before trying the More 1s for a week or so. I did learn that I liked them a lot.

3. I tried YesHearing and got the More 1s. I bailed on that too for a couple of reasons. 1) Price (which was very good for the USA, but still pricey. and 2) The tech set them up in a way that I would get constant whooshing as if the left ear was set on high volume. I was told I’d get used to it. I didn’t. Back they went.

Going on, I did some experimenting and looking around while I was still in my trial period. I had been on eBay before but discounted it as being too good (cheap) to be true and concluded I needed more specific and personalized handling and fitting, when I had previously considered eBay a couple of steps ago.