Musicians and hearing aids

To me, musicians and hearing aids should not go together but I have come to realize that aids could help make life a whole lot easier. As a musician, I want a very natural sound across the full frequency band. After many audi tests (years of figuring that I could do without) I started researching the possibility. Each year the audi would suggest that I try some aids. This summer, I got my education on brands and models as best I could. This friday, I will be trying for the first time aids to hear how much of a difference they will make. My trial will be with the Bernafon Verite 9ā€™s. They have a Live Music Plus Program that sounds like it could fit the bill for me. Essentially, they allow a greater dynamic range before compression takes place. Are there any other musicians out there wearing these that could give me a perspective of how aids work with music? Thanks.

There is a testimonial from Bob Martin, a muscian, producer, and recording engineer on America Hears website. There seems to be a web site where you might be able to contact him. The link to the testimonial is below. America Hears has 2 pre-programmed situations for music you can use in their 3 user-defined aid programs. They are music and music with comfort off. America Hears also comes with the hardware and software so you can program the aids yourself. I would think the ability to adjust/program the aids yourself might be important to a muscian. Good luck in yor search.
http://www.americahears.com/T/TESTMain.shtml

I am a recreational guitar player and I have found that most of the high end hearing aids do extremely well with music. The trick is to pick a hearing aid that has multiple programs slots available so that you can get your audiologist to use one of them for a program that is dedicated exclusively for music. When you program a slot for music you are typically turning off all noise reduction, compression, etc.