Low-freq loss, distortion/frequency-shifting and tinnitus = otosclerosis?

Hi all,

My first post here, so hi! :slight_smile:

I’m a recording engineer/producer with near-total low-frequency hearing loss in my left ear from about 1khz down, and above that from maybe 1-3k frequencies don’t track normally and there is distortion, then above that is fine. My right ear is fine.

By not tracking normally I mean if I play, for example, a major scale I will hear a normal major scale in my right ear and in my left the notes just don’t follow the same scale, with distortion at lower frequencies. In practice it means it’s hard to hear men’s speech and impossible to guess the key of songs. Not super easy to produce music either…

is this otosclerosis?

Matthew

Have you had an audiogram preformed? They can test for Bone Conduction which will tell you.

Hi William,

I have. They used headphones and also put on bone conduction “headphones”. Would that mean they were testing for otosclerosis?

Was the bone conduction headphone put behind your ear?

It will tell you if you have an issue with your middle ear which is what you need to find out.

Who did the test for you? Did they give you a diagnosis at the time? Has an ENT doc reviewed it or an Audi? Given your profession knowing definitely what’s going on it important to be able to provide the best solution for you.

Edit: can you supply the results of the audiogram you had performed? I think that will help some of the most knowledgeable people here to give you more targeted suggestions.

The test, including the bone conduction headphone, was done by the audiologist then reviewed by a couple of different ENTs. They seemed to think sensorineural.

I think it was behind the ear tho it was all fairly stressful so unfortunately I can’t recall if I heard low frequencies better or the same through the bone conduction. Perhaps it indicates in the chart?