Issues with Phonak iCom (long)

I am so frustrated with this iCom thing that I’m ready to take a hammer to it! I started wearing Phonak’s Naida S IX SP about six months ago. These have worked pretty well so far. The programming issues are another post/rant. I’ve been wearing Phonak aids in both ears for over 10 years. I’ve used the FM system with them for over 10 years also and have been very happy with the FM system.

First off I will say that the sound quality through the iCom is great. It does not produce the artifact (extra sound) that Naida produces in the presence of music, whistling and women’s voices.

However, that does not compensate for the problems.

1. The iCom does not do anything better than the FM system and it doesn’t do as much as the FM system.

2. When using the iCom with the television, computer or CD player, the iCom shuts off the external speakers of the TV/computer/CD player. No one can hear it but me. Obviously, this defeats the main purpose of the iCom as an assistive listening device to use in the presence of other people.

3. There is no option that I know of to turn off the external mics with the iCom like there is with FM system. With the FM system you have the option of FM only or FM+mic. There is no such option with the iCom that I know of. When I am using the iCom, I do not want to hear anything other than what is coming through the iCom.

4. The background noise overpowers the Bluetooth signal coming through the iCom. My audiologist turned down the mics, but the Naidas compensate by amplifying the background noise. I guess they think the muted background noise is soft speech that I want to hear.