Hearing aids making white noise/hiss/static sounds in response to low background noise

Hi all,

I got my first set of hearing aids (Philips 9040) from Costco in December, so I am new to all of this. While overall I am very happy with the aids, I have one issue that my audiologist hasn’t been able to resolve yet so I’m posting here in the hope that someone can offer some things to try next time I have an appointment. There are some similar threads for different aids (e.g. 1, 2, 3) but some suggested solutions are manufacturer-specific and some are what the audiologist tried already so I’m posting my own thread as I’m really looking to understand what is going on here in case it helps me find a fix. I haven’t ventured into DIY at present, so I would need some suggestions to take to my audiologist.

When I’m in a totally quiet place, my aids don’t make any hiss or white noise that I am aware of. But as soon as I’m in a situation where there is some background noise (air handling system, extractor fan, oven or microwave, road noise, robovac running in another room, tap running, etc.) I get a noise like radio static (I’ve also seen it described as bacon frying) that is always presented to my ear at the same pitch no matter what the pitch of the source background noise. It’s like the aids are desperate to pick up something, but they don’t give it to my ear at the source frequency but at this different very specific hissing/frying frequency. I know it’s not a primary noise the aids produce all the time because they don’t make it when I’m in a silent place; I know it’s not my ears picking up sounds that they couldn’t hear before because it’s a hiss at the same pitch no matter what the pitch or type of the source sound. So it appears to be the aids picking up the background noise but not giving it to my ears in the correct way.

Some other points: