Ear Infections repeatedly in one ear

Why are my hearing aids causing infections?

I’ve been wearing aids for about a year now, not worn for around 4 months due to constant infections in my left ear only. They aren’t full on infections but it gets soggy and have small amount discharge and the ear gets cloggy resulting in more severe deafness and uncomfortableness. This drum is perforated. other one was but at my last micro suction advised no longer perforated in right drum now.

I have a mould in left and dome in right, but I did have a dome in left originally whilst I awaited my moulds and had same issue. I clean them every evening with a dry cloth. If it was a cleaning issue might I expect the infections to occur/reoccur in the same ear?

In UK here and what I have gathered is ENT and audiology depts seem to operate independently. When I originally went for my fitting the audiologist expressed some concern that I had perforated ear drums and been referred for hearing aids…

Any advice?

I don’t know why you get so many ears infections what does your ENT say. I have been wearing aids for over 18 years and I have never had an ear infection. But I have a step son that doesn’t wear aids and he gets ear infections every time the seasons change. His issue is very small ear canals, and the fact he was born prematurely.
Have you ever had tubes in your ears? Are you always having allergy issues. I have allergies almost year round but never in my life have I had an ear infection. You need to be checked out by an ENT. I guess it could be you are allergic to the domes or the material that the ear molds are made from but again that is going to take an allergy doctor or ENT to help you.

1 Like

@jkalong

I also get slight cloudy discharge in my left ear long term but never my right.

Had more surgeries on my left due to infections.

I’m also in the UK.

1 Like