Does tylenol (acetaminophen) affect your hearing?

I’m a musician who wears hearing aids. I play at low volumes on stage <85dba so I keep my hearing aids in. That way, I can interact with audience members.

I pulled a muscle in my back moving the almost 40 lb speakers so I was taking Tylenol.

After a few days, I noticed a stuffiness in my ears, as if there was internal pressure against my eardrums. I made it very difficult to hear the music on my small 5" monitor speaker.

I’m very attuned to my hearing, and I noticed this is something very different. It seems to affect all frequencies, instead of the usual high ones, and made the music blur (the best description I can think of). It was even difficult to stay on the beat.

So I thought about what has been different in the past week, and I thought “Tylenol”. Googling, I couldn’t find much about it, other than long term use might damage the cochlea in men more than women. But this has only been a week or two. That’s hardly long term.

To either eliminate or confirm it, I discontinued the Tylenol, and the hearing immediately got clearer.

Has anyone else had this experience or even heard of this?

Thanks,
Bob

This document says it can effect your hearing. It’s not happened to me though. But other drugs can and do effect your hearing… Ciprofloxacin effects my hearing. But other ototoxic drugs can also.

5 Must-Know Medicinal Drugs That May Cause Hearing Loss - The National Campaign for Better Hearing.

4 Likes

Paracetamol (U.K. name for Tylenol I think) seems to ‘provoke’ my tinnitus, in that it seems louder and higher intensity. That’s just my perception of it of course, but if I’m taking paracetamol for a day or so it’s noticeable.

I take two 500 mg caplets Acetaminophen morning and night with no apparent effect on my hearing.

1 Like

Thanks.

Perhaps I’m just unlucky.