Costco vs. Independent? Hard to stomach spending $7k again

Apologies for the novel…

My ReSound Verso RIE (circa 2013) devices took an unfortunate ride in our washing machine last spring. I’m a tech guy, so I knew enough to immediately get them into a dry box. Amazingly they worked, but my impression is that haven’t been quite the same since.

I have not been wearing them that much, partially because they seem flakey, so I’m considering replacing them (not sure if repair is an option). I had originally paid $7k (included phone clip and remote control). I purchased through an independent audiologist who I like, trust and value. My conundrum is that I just can’t justify that kind of money right now, but at the same time the technologist in me, just doesn’t want to buy older inferior technology.

I had gone down the ReSound route at the time because of my perceived perception that I really needed the Bluetooth option and that the devices were technology superior. My hearing loss is in the high end, and some of it profound…(a recent audiogram is attached).

I have ultimately determined that the bluetooth piece is really not that essential, the issue being that the clip is awkward to manage and wear (and to remember to keep charged), and based on my reading here, I am likely to be better served by wearing my hearing aids, and using a wireless bone induction headset (I have abandoned the phone clip and use a wired headset instead of the expensive bluetooth streaming, because the quality is better and it’s much more reliable).

I feel awkward about taking money out of my audiologists pocket, but can my needs to be effectively met by going with Costco devices?

Am I going to be satisfied with the higher end Costco devices? and are they roughly equivalent of what I could get from my audiologist if I bought ReSound, Starkey, Widex etc…