Cause of hearing loss

Is it possible to know the cause of hearing loss from an audiogram? I’ve never had that discussion with an audiologist and I’m curious as to what may have caused it.

I’m aware that certain childhood diseases as well as some antibiotics in 50’s and 60’s could cause hearing problems. I’ll give a little background here. I’m currently 72 and doing well with Phonak Audeo P90L’s. When I entered the military in 1967 my hearing was nearly poor enough to prevent me from serving. I spent time in a combat zone in close proximity to artillery and frequent firing of small weapons. In those years there was little(no) hearing protection provided to service members. I have no record of a hearing test at discharge. Later in life I worked in a factory setting for 10 years or so with constant machine noise. In the 90’s I was denied acceptance for a specific training course in the Army Reserves due to hearing loss.

I would imagine that the combination of my life circumstances lead to where my hearing profile is at present but I’m curious why the poor hearing when I entered the military at a young age. Could there be clues in my present audiogram?

I don’t think it can from the audiogram. My hearing loss is a combination of genetic and loud jet engine noise. Going in the Navy my hearing was said to be normal even though I wasn’t able to understand the dots and dashes of Morse Code. But I look back over my life and I believe I have had hearing loss most of my life. I wasn’t able to do spelling by sounding out words. I have always mispronounced words. But I could hear a pin drop or an animal moving very quietly in the forest. My hearing loss started out as a cookie bite loss which is a genetic condition. But loud jet engine noise made it much worse.

2 Likes