Better Hearing Aid?

I currently have ReSound hearing aids from COSTCO. They are 4 years old and have been repaired on average once a year. I have been back for numerous different settings, but still have problems understanding what some people are saying. Is there a better hearing aid for understanding speech? Should I be seeing an audiologist instead of going to COSTCO?

I am going to say this. I have been wearing aids for 20 years. Hearing aids are just that aids, they can’t give you back your normal hearing. I have never been able to hear everyone the way i would like, it just isn’t possible. Your hearing loss is such you will never be able to hear everything you once did. It is a hard pill to swallow but it is the truth. But yes never give up, do get the aids adjusted the best possible but understand that you will always have issues hearing certain people. My advice, if you can afford it find yourself the best possible audiologist you can and try the Oticon INTENT1 aids, or the new Phonak aids. They may help.

2 Likes

So true.
I remember from elementary school years, I was able to hear and follow people without lip reading. Everything was so fluid. It’s just not possible now even with ultra powered hearing aids.
So sad memories, sorrow feelings. Another story for another day

I was raised to always be positive and look on the bright side. Yes I have hearing loss and yes my eyesight is poor, but i can still see to read and drive and I can still hear well enough to be actively volunteering and going to lectures and even concerts. So live is still great.

You’re right. Most of the time I try to do the same.

But sometimes, I cant go on… I cant move on… I freeze and get out of hearing world and get lost in an abyss … depression sets in. for a brief time… I mourn and mourn. I get back to living my life.

Unfortunately hearing aids are aids. Not a replacement for our ears.
You need to find a skilled fitter.