Behind the ear, aid question. Scratchy noise?

I just got a pr of Phonac behind the ear aid from the VA and love them. Was left in bad shape after cholesteatoma surgery. Anyhow, love the improvement but have a question. If something rubs against the aid itself, I hear static like noise. Like rubbing a piece of Styrofoam. Is this a normal deal with behind the ear aids? Tks for any answers.

Your Audi should be able to filter that out so you don’t hear it. When you go back to the clinic have a list of your issues and also what you really like. It is always good to give them feedback on how they are doing I have been using the VA for my aids for over 14 years now and I always have a list if what needs to be fixed and also what is working correctly.

1 Like

It is not unusual to be able to hear scratching sounds behind your ear. I have ReSound Quattro’s and they have excellent feedback cancellation, excellent wind noise control, at least with the settings my audi provided me.

BUT, when I put my RITE(RIC) devices on in the morning, one test that I do to see if the receivers are reasonably positioned in my ear is that I run a finger over the topic of the HA body behind my ear where the body with the 3 mics is and listen to the soft scratching sound that I generate. On very windy days when my hair is shaggy, I hear little or no wind noise from the mics themselves but what I do hear occasionally is if a gust of wind disturbs the HA’s or blows my shaggy hair against the mics, I will hear a rustling sound. Same for jostling my glasses and displacing the HA’s against my hair.