Apple Watch/ Smart Watch + HA

Here’s a lot of users using their iPhone with their HAs, you can also use it as remote mic.

However what about the iWatch? I’m kinda new to this and don’t know what the feature set of those watches is.

You should be able to download and use the App to control basic options on your HAs, just like with the Phone.

You should be able to use it as a mp3 player.

Does the Watch also have a mic and is able to being used as a remote mic?

basically asking if it was possible to use the watch as a table mic.

what else could a watch do that would be beneficial to HAs?

I kinda get turned off by smart phones, they’re too big and I don’t like being called at all times, but a watch is kinda more appealing to me.

Anybody experience with those?

Apple Watch Series 1 and 2 do not communicate with hearing aids. They only communicate with the iphone. You can use them to answer calls as they do have microphones. I use one. But not in tandem with my hearing aid and not as a remote mic.
Apple Watch Series 3 can operate independently of an iphone as it has its own cellular capability. A salesperson at the Apple store told me that it should be able to communicate with my hearing aid. If it can communicate with the hearing aid, it should also be able to be used as a remote mic. I haven’t tried it as I don’t want the extra expense of another cell device.

2 Likes

I believe the cellular feature is an optional model with higher cost. Because of the smaller battery and memory, it would be very limited as a sole device. Probable user would be a jogger out for a run.

I have the Apple Watch S3, non-cellular. I have to have the iPhone on me to use the S3 features.
That said, it is just awesome. I can control streaming (phoning, audio books, music, tv, …) from my wrist (start, stop, volume, forward/back…).