Amplifon + Audiologist Problems

I’m new to HearingTracker and am buying hearing aids for myself and my husband for the first time—-long overdue. But I’ve been deeply researching hearing aids on and off since 2011. And had an attempt back then, and a very bad audiologist experience when I bought HAs in 2013 that ended up with me without aids.

Our insurance through Cigna last year covered 2 HAs each through Amplifon. In 2021 I tried to get HAs through Amplifon, but the audiologist when I had an appointment simply said, “I like these,” and handed me a pair of Signia aids. I was stunned that that was the extent of the discussion of what aids would be best for me. I didn’t follow through.

So late in December, I was finally getting around to choosing aids for both of us, again through Amplifon. We have similar profiles—-mild, sloping to severe in high frequencies, quite bad at making out words in real life). I waited until late in December to do it, as I had been through a cascade of medical issues. In 2024 our coverage through Amplifon is only for one aid.

In our appointment to choose the aids, which was online, I said that I was interested in the Optician Real. (My husband is a musician, and we both are deeply in love with music, especially live in NYC). But the audiologist simply said that we should get the ReSound Nexia, because it was a newer technology. I said that I wanted a t-coil, but she was dismissive about that, she said that venues had earphones for people! She simply said that she would order the ReSound Nexia for both of us.

She also said that we would have to chose a service package, ranging between $1,500-$2,500. What??

Shortly after that, I called back to tell her that I absolutely wanted a t-coil and asked for a call back, which I never received. I then found out that insurance said we couldn’t get the Nexia, so the audi chose the Omnia for us without consulting me.