2 Years Later - Hearing Getting Worse

I just had a hearing test after 2 years since my last one. I was shocked that I am now Mild to Moderate vs Normal to Mild 2 years ago. I am only 32, but feel saddened that things are getting worse. I thought most of my problem was people wearing face masks, but was worried that my hearing aids weren’t working as well as they used to.

Anyone else see a steady decline every few years?

2/16/2019

5/9/2021

I elected to get the new Costco Kirkland 10.0s to replace my difficult to get programed Hansation sound SHD. I am excited because this time around I will be getting Real Ear Measurements and can have remote adjustments instead of having to mail them in. It will also be my first set to have BlueTooth and Tinnitus Mode.

Thanks,
Catherine

2 Likes

I have been wearing hearing aids for over 16 years my hearing loss has been a steady loss. I am now 73 and in that time my hearing has gone from a mild loss to severe hearing loss. My advice is to get at least yearly hearing test, and to keep a journal of your hearing health any thing you even think has changed note it, also note the good things as well as the bad.

7 Likes

I felt you about the wearing masks situation. I have been in tinnitus for many years but felt my hearing was getting worse after the pandemic. I thought the same that the problem was people wearing masks at first. But recently after I got my hearing test, the feedback kinda make me nervous. I am only 23 and have already became mild hearing loss.

Also, I’d like to ask anyone for advice here. I don’t own any hearing aids currently, and I am wondering that if my hearing would get worse and worse if I don’t use any hearing aids, or any suggestions for mild hearing loss?

I would really appreciate any answer.

1 Like

I have SSHL, and yes, my hearing does worsen over time. October 2014, my left was moderate hearing loss, right was very mild, I only needed 1 hearing aid.