Your/my opinions on music programs - Phonak Lumity 90, Oticon Intents, Resound Nexia (plus Resound Linx 3D)

Hi all, new user here. Ex-musician who ruined his hearing playing in loud bands with no ear protection. I’ve been wearing Resound Linx 3Ds for over 5 years, now trialling Phonak Lumity and Oticon Intents. While all round performance is important, the music program is very important to me as I record and mix my own music. I recently found a really good audi who tweaked the Linx 3Ds so they sound really good in my home studio when I listen to music. The music program in the 3Ds is really good and I don’t need to adjust the eq at all to get an excellent listening experience.

I’ve decided to upgrade my HAs and have trialled the Phonak L90s for a couple of weeks. Overall, I was disappointed. The overall listening experience was not as good IMO as the 3Ds (I couldn’t hear the TV as clearly and speech in noise was no better) and the music program lacked the warmth of the 3Ds. Detail was good but music felt “sterile” and lacked warmth in the mid range and upper bass frequencies. Definitely not an upgrade from the 3Ds for me.

I’ve just started trialling the Intents and already I can feel improvements in general speech and TV listening. However, the MyMusic program is truly awful IMO. It’s so bass-heavy and boomy, it needs serious EQ adjustments to get close to acceptable reproduction for me. I’ve read some of the posts on here about how Oticon have adjusted (in clearly a bad way) the way MyMusic handles upper mids. One recommendation was to customise the general program rather than use MyMusic.