Will hearing aids benefit me based on my test?

Newbie here… 72 years old. Never used HA. Was a rock 'n roll DJ for 15 years so I had headphones cranked up every day. I’m surprised I can hear mid and high frequencies at all.
Took the test at COSTCO recently and the tech believes I would benefit from HA. Recommended RIC Philips 9040. I’ve been reading posts that are very informative and searching for posts on the forum on many subjects. I’ve attached the test results and am looking for any info that might be helpful before I place the order. Please glance at my results and let me know if you see anything that might be relevant. Thanks…and Cheers!
Hearing eval 080823.pdf (198.0 KB)

List item

1 Like

I suspect hearing aids would make it easier to understand speech. The Phillips 9040 are fine aids. Just be prepared to hear a lot of sounds you haven’t been hearing that will seem extraordinarily loud. Give yourself time to get used to them.

2 Likes

Yes, I think you would benefit. Most people wait too long to start wearing aids, and the problem with waiting too long is the brain begins to lose its cognitive ability for speech comprehension when you can’t hear well enough to decipher words. You have not waited too long, but it would be to your benefit to start now, before you have another 10-20 dB loss. Costco’s advice is generally reliable. There are hearing aid chains that oversell; Costco is not one of them.

4 Likes

Similar hearing loss to me, with a similar reason (Guitarist in a Rock Band). Yes, they’ll help you a great deal. You’ll hear things you haven’t heard for years. It’s a noisy world out there :slight_smile:

4 Likes

Usually the people around us know before we do that we need hearing aids. Being “hard of hearing” affects us and the people we spend time with.

DaveL

2 Likes

Do you still play?
How did you select your hearing aids? Do they work well for you listening to music?