Why is my dome sliding out of my ear?

I wear a Phonak Roger Focus in my right ear for certain things.

I’m wearing a size 1 tube and a large open dome. The dome starts to slide out over time so the bend of the tube is sticking away from my ear.

Anything I can do, to stop the dome from moving? I’m not experienced with slim tubes and domes.

I had trouble getting a size 1 Siemens life tube to stay in my ear it was because the tube was too long and rigidly shaped so it would move itself back to where it wanted to sit. Unfortunately that was the smallest size but putting a tube twist around it helped to fill the gap between the tube and my ear and stop it moving so much

1 Like

My experience is with RIC aids, not BTE, but I think the dome size is a trial and error thing. I am currently trying XS, S, and M sized sleeves with my aids. They try to get you to pick the size based on a few minutes in the office. I finally decided to ask for a range of sizes to try at home. So far the M size seems to stay in my ears a bit better. Have not tried the XS yet.

1 Like

You might try turning the tube counterclockwise just a little at the aid. That would push the tube/dome towards the ear more.

2 Likes

I’ve done it like this and it’s working, thank you! :slight_smile:

2 Likes

@Zebras The slim tubes and such can be made to fit perfectly with such a tool:

It’s a piece of plastic in the form of a hearing aid and a thin wire that goes through the slim tube. The wire prevents the tube from disforming at a bend. (I used to have 13mm flextubes from Bernafon, so I drilled a hole and put a thicker wire into the plastic. That’s why there are two.)

You put the tool behind your ear. You move the tube in the form and shape that your are really happy with. You take them out and use a air gun to heat the tube so that it becomes softer and let it cool in the shape that the wire is. After removing the wire the tube will be perfect.