Why can i hear so much better with headphones than hearing aids?

I have been wearing analogue hearing aids for 27 years, although they wernt always great they could at least reproduce music in an acceptable fashion. Surely if i can buy a set of £100 headphones that sound great then i should be able to experience a similar sound from £3000 HAs? I am talking about the bud style with small drivers. I feel the hearing aids are trying to be too clever in that if i am watching a film and there are loud explosions i want to hear loud explosions not sudden sound loss because the hearing aid decides its too loud! This is not helpful nor natural!!! My partners voice sounds as though it is through a tin cup!! and dont get me started about the guitar!!! If digital are so much better why do i get headaches because my brain knows there is a sound there that the hearing aids will not replicate! These make me feel as if i have a real problem! when i had analogues after a few weeks i forgot i had them in and my brain decided what i need to hear!! surely this is better than a computers guess. There are benefits to the digitals but if the SOUND QUALITY is not there what is the point? I liken it to digital tv if the signal is great fine, but if it isnt expect blocky or frozen pictures coupled with loss of sound contrasted against analogue where overall quality goes down slightly but remains watchable. I want HAs that can fit in with my life NOT the other way round. If it aint broke comes to mind.:(:confused::confused: