VA hearing aid eligibility

Okay, I’m new at this (hardly the internet), but certainly at HA’s. Maybe I’m at the wrong site or forum and I understand that. I do well understand the worst thing about Newbies is lack of searching before an inquiry. But I’m sure most of you know that on most popular sites a “Search” can reveal 1,000 results and Google can result in 10,000. I HAVE searched and found some links online with the VA, but they are typically extremely confusing and involve a lot of paperwork (which I don’t mind if that is what is required). However what I’ve found thus far from them is ambiguous at best. I know that I lost significant hearing in 2 years in Vietnam, but it was always “tolerable”, I guess, as I could hear fairly well out of my left ear. So, am I wrong even inquiring here if it is for specific to products sold via here? I am not looking for a specific answer just anyone’s own experience with the VA. I never sought any disability for my hearing (when out-processing, I was told “you hearing will eventually return”) and though I was wounded in the leg, I never sought disability for that, having known comrades who had lost who legs or arms and the wound has only been a minor inconvenience. Sorry to ramble, but while I AM pursuing this through the VA, that’s like wading through quicksand and just want to know if A) do the make/models they offer of any real value and B) does anyone know if you have to have claimed disability for hearing to even be considered? I expect an answer to "B " eventually as my call was on hold for almost an hour before being cut off and my email has yet to been answered. As far as “A” I have checked out COSTCO and they seem the best from all I’ve read here and elsewhere, but if I can get a set free from the VA, at least I can try them out and see if they suit me and if not, what I will be looking for if I go “commercial” to acquire a set. Again, thanks for bearing with this and all I’m looking for is anyone else’s personal ex