Using silica gel

just a question. i’m new to HAs and cant afford a dry n store yet.

can i just place a pack of silica gel in the case provided by oticon? or is this a bad idea?? i am from a country where the temperature usually ranges from 20-34 degrees celcius…

thanks

I use a small gass jar with a screw top. The lower part of the jar is filled with packets of desiccant (silica crystals) from the pharmacist. He saved so many for me that I have maybe two pounds of them in a plastic bag. :stuck_out_tongue:

Uncooked rice does the same job as silica gel.

thats a good tip… i’ll ask my pharamacist if she can get some from me :slight_smile:

by the way, is it ok for the hearing aid and battery to get contact with the packet of dessicant?? will there be no adverse reaction??

Lay a piece of cloth over the packet. It should not anyway.

For around $10, you can buy a Dry and Store. It has reusable desiccant. You recharge it in the microwave. Seems like a silly thing versus $10 for a better solution.

It does not.