Unbearable itching in ear

I have been wearing hearing aids for about 35 years. Over this period I have suffered itching in my right ear, which developed into a form of dermatitis. My doctor prescribed a cortisone cream but using this for a long period has left my ear canal dry and scaly at times. It itches unbearably meaning that I have to remove the aid to scratch it.

Prolonged use of cortisone creams can cause the skin to thin and I think this is what has happened to my ear so I stopped using it. I now use just olive oil when my ear becomes too dry. This help to some extent and I can go for a few hours but the itching always comes back.

Can anyone suggest any remedies to stop this itching?

There are a couple of oils that help with itch that can be purchased on Amazon and other places. With the dry/scale situation, you might do well with olive oil. It was what my doctor suggested.

1 Like

Hi @Weirb

i completely understand your problem and I may come as a surprise to you that this could be caused by a different problem all together. Try to find the root cause of the dermatitis.

In my case I had to go to the doctor for stomach and colon problems, in the end it I was allergic to gluten and this was causing rashes all over my body. I’ve eliminated all gluten related meals and I have a huge improvement in quality of life and guess what no dermatitis so far.

Hope this helps, hearing aids are a huge part of my life and professional career. i can’t even think of the idea of not wearing them due to a dermatitis.

Thank you but I think the problem is hearing aid related. I have no other problems that would suggest any intolerance.

Good answer!

Reminds me of “hot spots” on dogs. i.e. they keep licking a wound to relieve the itch, which irritates the tissues, making them itch. A circular kind of thing. For dogs, you make them wear a head cone so they can’t lick. Have you ever tried keeping the aid and your fingers out of the canal long enough to let it heal?