Trying Phonak Ambra nano's and new Virto Q - Need Advice!

Hi there,

I’m new to the HA world and would like to thank everyone here for this wonderful site and all the information people post here!

First my short story , I’m a young cancer survivor (17+ months in remission) i was diagnosed with advanced testicular cancer when i was 25 , spent around four years in-out hospitals and did many surgeries and heavy chemo treatments, including two bone morrow transplants (HIGH DOSE Chemo). The first chemo treatment’s i did were mildly ototoxic but the High dose one had high oto-toxicity and did considerable damage to my hearing , so basically i lost some hearing at the beginning but it wasn’t until the High Dose chemo that Oncologists told me i would be losing significant High Frequency hearing.

So i guess most of you know the drill here , I cant understand TV unless i crank the volume high , music is considerably muffled and the Treble knob on my car is useless. Going to the Movies is a frustrating experience , waitresses and females are difficult to understand etc etc. I can hold conversations with people on a table of 6 but if there’s background noise or more than one person speaking i get lost.

My lifestyle is pretty demanding , I’m 29 years old now and back to university life , i go out three times a week (Bar’s , Lounges , Clubs with earplugs on). Lots of social gatherings with friends (with loud background noise all the time) I’m also outside the house in noisy environments (urban setting) 70% of my waking hours. Fast forward i finally decided to see an Audi clinic , i picked a big name one , they have branches all over the state where i live (don’t know if that’s good or bad?). The audi is a young female she seems very friendly and knowledgeable. I asked her to recommend the brand shes mostly experienced with and she suggested Phonak which was one of my top choices anyway , she also added that Sound Recover from Phonak would be an excellent benefit for my case.