Sudden Hearing Loss twice in the same ear within one year

Hi everyone, I just registered, and want to say hi.

I am a professional classical musician, concertizes internationally. In Jan 2017, I had an episode of sudden hearing loss on both ears, though my right was way worse then my left. Went to see an ENT at the Stanford Ear Nose Throat Clinic, and was told that the chance of me getting another sudden hearing loss is greater than being struck by lightening. Well, two days ago, I woke up with strange high pitch ringing in my right ear (the ear with moderate to severe hearing loss from Jan). Had a rehearsal at noon, realized I was hearing constant distortion from myself and others talking, not to mention my instrument, it was unbearable due to its loud volume. Went to my ENT, after an audiogram, was diagnosed with yet ANOTHER hearing loss. Right now, I have severe to profound hearing loss, with zero words recognition (due to severe distortion). My ENT started me on high dose steroids, but I am not hopeful as it didn’t work last time. In fact, he administrated steroids injection in Jan, and made my hearing worse. MRI is clear, no autoimmune disease. My ENT and I are both baffled as he has NEVER seen anyone having TWO sudden hearing loss in the same ear within one year. He thought I had a virus attack, now he doesn’t think so anymore due to my second attack. I am jcurious, does anyone in this forum has experienced or heard the same situation? If so, what was the diagnoses?

What’s your audiogram look like?

My right ear currently has 60-70 dsb loss with zero words recogniztion.

60 to 70db is a moderately severe loss.

Thanks for the correction, Zebras. Do you know of anyone that experienced sudden hearing loss twice on the same ear?

Hi 7d,