Starky Wi Series and Stethoscopes

Hi there. I’m curious if anyone might have an alternative solution I could try when it comes to using a stethoscope (I’m a nursing student) with my Bluetooth BTE hearing aids. Currently I’m using an e-scope with over the ear headphones and the combination works well enough, but it’s really not practical as the headphones are quite large and cumbersome to keep carrying around all day.

Has anyone come across any Bluetooth enabled devices that could be paired together with an e-scope, or even a different amplified stethoscope altogether that I could use with the Surflink Mobile perhaps. I’m open to all suggestions. I know I’m not the only one out there that’s hearing impaired and needs to use a stethoscope !! :slight_smile: Thanks in advance !!!

A doctor discussed what he uses sometime back. Search on stethoscope above.

I use the ThinkLabs One scope with my Starkeys. The ear buds (I think they’re Beats) are flexible enough that they are comfortable with the RIC tubing. When the exam room is fairly quiet you can actually separate out upper airway sounds that the hearing aids are picking up from the lung sounds through the stethescope. When I’m with a screaming toddler I can partially “mute” the child by muting the aids.
The service I’ve had from the company has been excellent.
Last year I researched stethescopes because like you I found the e-scope very clunky. Starkey used to have a scope with wired connections to the aids but it doesn’t seem to be available any more. Also, if you have an open fit aid you don’t have very much low frequency amplification. If you would stream directly to the aids you might be losing a lot of the lung and heart sounds.