Starkey Destiny 400

Hi,

Just signed up for the forums and have been reading quite a bit, loving all the information!

I have been wearing HA’s for about 12 years and had an unfortunate incident with my widex aid last week…I am now looking for new HA’s and my budget will only allow so much…So, I had impressions taken yesterday and am looking at the Starkey Destiny 400’s. Does anyone have any experience with these aids?

Thanks!

Why are you not going back to the Widex brand?

The Destiny 400 is fairly old technology for Starkey. Most likely you are being sold a used aid? If you don’t mind me asking, how much are you paying? If these aids are brand new, I wonder why you aren’t being offered the S Series 5 for the same amount of money…

I had one Starkey Destiny. Great sound, and powerful.

I have two and am very happy with them so far.:smiley:

I know they are an older technology but my audi told me about $900 per ear…do you think that is out of line? I thought it sounded pretty good based on my research.

I am not against going with Widex again I just thought I would do my due diligence and look at other options this time around. I jumped pretty quick last time and thought I would do some testing. I am going with a CIC as I work in the broadcast world and need to comfortably fit my headphones on each day.

To me it seems like a false economy. You are buying technology that has been made obsolete by four generations of improvements, and even when this device was current, about fourth best in the lineup.

If you are going to invest that kind of money, I’d spend a bit more and get something current. I agree with looking at Starkey though, and the Destiny 400 is a solid aid, but it would be a bit like buying the original iPod instead of the nice ones they have now.